Working status on v 1.3.0

The PE packer place.

Moderator: CGSoftLabs

Post Reply
CGSoftLabs
Registered User
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:00 am

Working status on v 1.3.0

Post by CGSoftLabs »

v 1.3.0 [xx xxx 2005]

-customizable resource compression;
-you may want to use a resource viewer to find what you want to let uncompressed;
-fixed the Compressing Thread...better said..finished it :) ;it can be canceled now;
-increased Lib 2 compression by applying a filter;
-fixed a bug related to Lib 2 when compressing bigger files...(Acrobat Reader);the compressed filesize was increased with garbage...also the progress stat freezing a little at the end,when garbage was compressed;now in the same circumstances,the compressed filesize is smaller;
AcroRd32Pk.exe 2.708KB (2.930KB previous version);
-using new enforced Lib 2 compression + resource handeling AcroRd32Pk.exe becomes 2.466Kb (67%);this is avesome because upx stops with compression around 2.786Kb;(original AcroRd32.exe 7.485Kb);
-reduced stub size for packer from 7 to 5Kb; canceled MesageBoxes for different errors;
stub will exit quietly;also removed TLS support functions which wasn't finished and didn't worked;
-so based on stub size...if you want to get some compression,
you must pack files at least twice bigger than stub size;
-iexplore.exe (6.0.2900.2180) with Lib2 and resource string '3:8,14:32528' was compressed from 91Kb to 48kb (48%);
-memory requirements depend from compression Libs; Lib2 require much memory 4-5 times file size;

So:
AcroRd32.exe 7.485Kb (v 6.0.0.878 original filesize)
AcroRd32Pk.exe 2.930KB (eXPressor 1.2)
AcroRd32Pk.exe 2.466Kb (eXPressor 1.3) = 67%
AcroRd32Pk.exe 2.786Kb (-9 upx )

:wink:

CGSoftLabs
Registered User
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:00 am

Post by CGSoftLabs »

the new 1.3 releas is approaching...

-new progress bar for packed file size;ratio shows real time compression of different blocks of data;
-"Silent start" option to autostart packing file when choosing to pack from sell menu command;
-now packed .dll's are tested also,to see if it works, when you press "Test" button;
-fixed relocation bug when packing .dll files;in previous version eXPressor couldn't handle right the situation when windows loader rebase loaded dll at other ImageBase;
-support for dll's which must be registered via regsvr32;
-"TYPELIB" and "REGISTRY" resources are not packed on resource compression level 2;
they say that these resources must stay uncompressed,but if Dlls are loaded via
LoadLibrary(),and DllMain is invoked it will be decompressed at runtime;i belive that the problem
may appear with LoadLibraryEx() and LOAD_LIBRARY_AS_DATAFILE or DONT_RESOLVE_DLL_REFERENCES flags when DllMain is not called;
regsvr32 seems to work fine on xp (altough will show a fail message it will register the dll)
with all resoures packed but i don't know what's happening on other OSs;
-well find the so called Restorator bug;the resource section must have name ".rsrc",otherwise this program won't see any resource jajaja :)
-support for DLLs which are not in the same dir with the main exe (problem when resolving IAT),
aka com dll's which are loaded via registry..and offen are placed in other than system default directories;
Ex:IEtools.dll is a BHO loaded by iexplore.exe;if we pack ietools.dll at unpacking time,when solving imports for ietools
LoadLib will fail, for a dll linked by ietools which is not placed in system dir,but in ietools.dll dir;

:wink:

Guest

Post by Guest »

CGSoftLabs wrote:the new 1.3 releas is approaching...

-new progress bar for packed file size;ratio shows real time compression of different blocks of data;
-"Silent start" option to autostart packing file when choosing to pack from sell menu command;
-now packed .dll's are tested also,to see if it works, when you press "Test" button;
-fixed relocation bug when packing .dll files;in previous version eXPressor couldn't handle right the situation when windows loader rebase loaded dll at other ImageBase;
-support for dll's which must be registered via regsvr32;
-"TYPELIB" and "REGISTRY" resources are not packed on resource compression level 2;
they say that these resources must stay uncompressed,but if Dlls are loaded via
LoadLibrary(),and DllMain is invoked it will be decompressed at runtime;i belive that the problem
may appear with LoadLibraryEx() and LOAD_LIBRARY_AS_DATAFILE or DONT_RESOLVE_DLL_REFERENCES flags when DllMain is not called;
regsvr32 seems to work fine on xp (altough will show a fail message it will register the dll)
with all resoures packed but i don't know what's happening on other OSs;
-well find the so called Restorator bug;the resource section must have name ".rsrc",otherwise this program won't see any resource jajaja :)
-support for DLLs which are not in the same dir with the main exe (problem when resolving IAT),
aka com dll's which are loaded via registry..and offen are placed in other than system default directories;
Ex:IEtools.dll is a BHO loaded by iexplore.exe;if we pack ietools.dll at unpacking time,when solving imports for ietools
LoadLib will fail, for a dll linked by ietools which is not placed in system dir,but in ietools.dll dir;

:wink:
is this version released already?

CGSoftLabs
Registered User
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:00 am

Post by CGSoftLabs »

yes..it's available... if you buy it :wink:

Guest

Post by Guest »

CGSoftLabs wrote:yes..it's available... if you buy it :wink:
http://www.shareit.com/product.html?productid=300018661&languageid=1&stylefrom=300018661

is it the same with this one?

CGSoftLabs
Registered User
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:00 am

Post by CGSoftLabs »

for download ..only ver 1.2 is available
there is no link to download ver 1.3..only if you buy it

see http://itimer.home.ro/express.html for available licence types

Guest

Post by Guest »

CGSoftLabs wrote:for download ..only ver 1.2 is available
there is no link to download ver 1.3..only if you buy it

see http://itimer.home.ro/express.html for available licence types
ok...thanks

Post Reply